Webserver Date: 20-September-2018

Government of India Atomic Energy Commission


The Indian Atomic Energy Commission was first setup in August 1948 in the Department of Scientific Research, which was created a few months earlier in June 1948. The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) was setup on August 3, 1954 under the direct charge of the Prime Minister through a Presidential Order. Subsequently, in accordance with a Government Resolution dated March 1, 1958, the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) was established in the Department of Atomic Energy. The Prime Minister (late Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru) also laid a copy of this Resolution on the table of the Lok Sabha on March 24, 1958.


According to the Resolution constituting the AEC, the Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of Atomic Energy is ex-officio Chairman of the Commission. The other Members of the AEC are appointed for each calendar year on the recommendation of the Chairman, AEC and after approval by the Prime Minster.

 Present composition of the AEC as per Notification No. AEC-1(1)/17/15714 dated December 06, 2017 is given below:

Dr Sekhar Basu
Secretary, Department of Atomic Energy
Nripendra Misra Principal Secy PMO Shri Nripendra Misra                                               
Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister
Ajit Kumar Doval NSA

Shri Ajit Kumar Doval
National Security Advisor

  Shri Pradeep Kumar Sinha
Cabinet Secretary 
  Shri Vijay Keshav Gokhale
Foreign Secretary 
Shri Ajay Narayan Jha
Secretary Department of Expenditure
Ms.Sanjeevanee Kutty
Secretary Department of Ex-Servicemen Welfare
Member Finance

Dr. M.R. Srinivasan
Chairman AEC

Prof. P. Rama Rao,
Former Secretary Department of Science and Technology
Dr. Anil Kakodkar
Former Chairman, AEC

Dr. R. B. Grover
DAE Homi Bhabha Chair Professor

Dr. K. Kasturirangan
Former Chairman Space Commission &
Former Member, Planning Commission
Shri K.N Vyas, Director,
Bhabha Atomic Research Centre
Shri Arun Srivastava,
Head Institutional Collaboration and Programs Division, NCPW,  DAE

 Click here to get a glimpse of all Chairpersons of Indian Atomic Energy Commission.